Continuing Competence

What is Continuing Competence?

The CIWM/WAMITAB continuing competence scheme is designed to ensure that the technically competent person (someone who holds a certificate of technical competence, units or a qualification that is part of the operator competence scheme) on a waste site has the knowledge and skills that keep pace with changes made across the waste management industry, such as the introduction of new legislation, technologies and techniques.

The CIWM/WAMITAB continuing competence scheme requires technically competent people in England and Wales to pass a test that demonstrates individuals have kept their competence up to date.

The Continuing Competence Test can only be booked through the CIWM web site and you will need a Debit/Credit card ready.

When do I need to take the Continuing Competence Test?

Every two years from the date your Certificate is issued.

Continuing Competence Refresher Course

A T NERAC offers a Refresher course for delegates to attend prior to taking their test.

This is an intensive one day course based on the syllabus for Continuing Competence, giving information on the latest legislation and the opportunity for delegates to undertake mock, multiple choice tests.

Feedback from previous attendees has been excellent and we encourage delegates to contact us following their test and give us their comments. These have been very positive: an email from one lady stated “I passed, thanks to the Assessor and his sealed drainage questions”.