Waste Management Awards

Statutory Awards – How do I know which award to register for?

The CIWM/WAMITAB Operator Competence Scheme is linked to a Risk Tiers Table (this can be found on the WAMITAB web site: Primary Competence – CIWM (WAMITAB) (ciwmquals.co.uk)

This determines the environmental risk for the operation of a particular type of facility by using the following colour codes:

  • Yellow for ‘high risk’ facilities
  • Green for ‘medium risk’ facilities
  • Blue for ‘low risk’ facilities

Using the Risk Tiers Table you will be able to determine the qualification (or group of units) needed to meet the technically competent manager requirement for your site or sites.

All you have to do is look up the level of risk and description of the facility you work at, before looking across to see which units you require.

The table also shows the Standard Rules Permit identifiers (e.g. SR2008No14) which are the Environmental Agency references linking the different types of site to individual permit requirements. You can also use these to identify which units you require.

Each award has an Award Code and this is the award that you will need to register for, through an Assessment Centre.

Please note: it remains the responsibility of the Operator, in discussion with the appropriate Regulatory Agency, to ensure that the qualification, units or training programme selected for that activity is appropriate for their site.

Continuing Competence – CIWM (WAMITAB) (ciwmquals.co.uk)

Non Statutory Awards

A T NERAC also offers the CIWM (Wamitab) Non Statutory awards and a full list of these can be found on the CIWM web site.

CIWM (WAMITAB) (ciwmquals.co.uk)